mypool@mypoolinspection.com.au 1300 86 64 63
Pool Safety Laws vary depending on which state your property is located in

 

 

Information for NSW

We’re here to help

Inspections? Pool Safety Certificates? Buying? Selling? Renting? Annual inspections? It’s all very confusing. mypoolinspection is Australia’s only dedicated pool fence inspection company that services multiple states and has government accredited certifiers which live local to your area. Each state in Australia has different requirements regarding registering your pool, which Australian standards apply and when inspections are required.

What Our Customers Say

My utmost pleasure – has been great working with you and your team! Would love a copy of the Tenant Guide if possible – you can’t put a dollar sign on that kind of value!!Chanel Nguyen - LJ Hooker Port Douglas

The Rules

The first thing you’ll want to do is to familiarise yourself with what your legal obligations are depending on your status of ownership.Click the closest to yours below to view the nitty-gritty.

HOMEOWNERS

Every pool owner must ensure their pool complies with the laws that applied when their pool was built.

Or, if the pool fence has been substantially altered since then, it must comply with the standard that applied at the time of the alteration.

This does not mean you need an inspection, but you must make sure the pool barrier is compliant.

For most pool owners, it is almost impossible to understand all the legislation to work out if the pool barrier complies. Most pool owners need advice from a Pool Safety Inspector.

Consider the risks of doing nothing:

Councils have the power to enter your backyard to check your pool. They may fine you, and issue enforcement notices, if your pool does not comply.

The State Government can issue fines for non-compliance.

if a tragedy occurs in your pool, because your fence is non-compliant, and you are sued by the family, your insurance company might not pay out.

Take advantage of our free advice services, and call mypoolinspection to arrange an inspection.

SELLERS

Are you selling your house or unit?

From 29th April 2016, a copy of the following must exist before you can sell your property:

• A valid Certificate of Compliance, or

• A relevant Occupation Certificate (a relevant occupation certificate is an occupation certificate issued under the Environmental Planning and Assessment Act 1979 that is less than 3 years old and that authorises the use of the swimming pool)

Remember…some purchasers will be reluctant to enter into a contract unless they know what they’re buying.

Call mypoolinspection now to arrange an inspection.

 

BUYERS

Are you buying a house or unit?

From 29th April 2016, a copy of the following must exist before you can buy a property:

• A valid Certificate of Compliance, or

• A relevant Occupation Certificate (a relevant occupation certificate is an occupation certificate issued under the Environmental Planning and Assessment Act 1979 that is less than 3 years old and that authorises the use of the swimming pool)

We provide “Consulting reports” for buyers that are seeking advice on whether a pool complies with the Standard.

Call mypoolinspection now to arrange an inspection.

 

LANDLORDS

From 29th April 2015, if you are renting out a property with a pool, at the time that a residential tenancy agreement is entered into:

• The pool must be registered on the state Pool Safety Register, and

• A valid Certificate of Compliance must exist, and

• A copy of the valid Certificate of Compliance must be provided to the tenant

Call mypoolinspection now to arrange an inspection.

 

REAL ESTATE

Are you a Sales Agent?

From 29th April 2016, a copy of the following must exist before you can sell your property:

• A valid Certificate of Compliance, or

• A relevant Occupation Certificate (a relevant occupation certificate is an occupation certificate issued under the Environmental Planning and Assessment Act 1979 that is less than 3 years old and that authorises the use of the swimming pool)

Remember…some purchasers will be reluctant to enter into a contract unless they know what they’re buying.

Call mypoolinspection now to arrange an inspection.

Are you a Property Manager?

From 29th April 2015, if you are renting out a property with a pool, at the time that a residential tenancy agreement is entered into:

• The pool must be registered on the state Pool Safety Register, and

• A valid Certificate of Compliance must exist, and

• A copy of the valid Certificate of Compliance must be provided to the tenant

Call mypoolinspection now to arrange an inspection.

 

BODY CORPORATES

From 29th April 2014, Pool Safety Laws apply to Body Corporates and Community Titles Schemes that have swimming pools.

If one of the lot owners is selling a unit

1. If you are selling a property with a pool, a copy of either of the following must exist:

• A valid Certificate of Compliance, or

• A relevant Occupation Certificate (a relevant occupation certificate is an occupation certificate issued under the Environmental Planning and Assessment Act 1979 that is less than 3 years old and that authorises the use of the swimming pool).

If one of the lot owners enters into a rental agreement with a new or an existing tenant

2. . If the landlord is renting out a property with a pool, at the time that a residential tenancy agreement is entered into:

• The pool must be registered on the state Pool Safety Register, and

• A valid Certificate of Compliance must exist, and

• A copy of the valid Certificate of Compliance must be provided to the tenant

Don’t wait until one of your lot owners wants to sell or lease. Do it now and save the stress. A Compliance Certificate will remain valid for 3 years for a shared pool.

Call mypoolinspection now to arrange an inspection.

 

RESORTS

From 29th April 2014, Pool Safety Laws apply to Accommodation Providers that have swimming pools, which must have:

• A valid Certificate of Compliance, or

• A relevant Occupation Certificate (a relevant occupation certificate is an occupation certificate issued under the Environmental Planning and Assessment Act 1979 that is less than 3 years old and that authorises the use of the swimming pool)

For Inspections Every 3 Years

Accommodation Operators must ensure that the pool fence/barrier is maintained to the current standard of compliance at all times.

An Accommodation Operator may request, at any time, an Accredited Certifier inspect the pool and issue a Certificate of Compliance.

Local Councils are only required to inspect pool every 3 years if a Certificate of Compliance is not in force. Get in first before the Local Council inspector comes knocking.

 

Our Clients

FAQ

Here are some of the most common questions we’re often asked by our customers.

Can I rent my house to tenants without a Compliance Certificate?

Yes, until 29th April 2016 you can rent your house with or without a Compliance Certificate. But, we recommend that you arrange your inspection now, so that you do not experience delays as April approaches. Bottlenecks with shortages of inspectors and repairers will start well before December 2015. Continue Reading

I am selling my house. Do I need a Compliance Certificate?

You can sell your house with or without a Compliance Certificate up to 29th April 2016. But, many purchasers may be reluctant to buy your house if they dont know whether the pool barrier is compliant. We recommend that you get one to give your property a better chance of selling. Continue Reading

I thought only Councils did pool inspections?

No, that is wrong.

Accredited A1, A2 & A3 Certifiers can also do inspections, which is who mypoolinspection has partnered with.

Here’s why we recommend against going to Council for inspections:

• Council dont have the staff. You’ve heard it through the media. The reason the government has pushed back the trigger date (twice) is because Councils dont have the manpower. mypoolinspection does and is ready NOW.

• Councils issue “Directions” and “Enforcement Notices”, which only give the Landlord 28 DAYS to fix fence problems.

• Councils threaten $550 FINES if you dont have it done in 28 DAYS. mypoolinspection does NOT issue fines.

• Councils look at everything in the backyard, not just the pool, which could bring on more “Directions”. mypoolinspection only look at the pool barrier.

Here’s a tip…ask to see a copy of a sample “report” from the Council before you pay them to inspect your pool. Continue Reading

I have doors that open up onto the pool area. Do they comply?

It depends. If your pool fence was constructed before 1990, and the doors are compliant with the laws that applied at the time, you may be entitled to continue to use the doors as a barrier. We will inspect your pool barrier and compare it to the Standards that existed when the pool was built (or substantially altered) to give you the best chance of continuing to comply with earlier standards. Continue Reading

Facts & Figures

How do you know we deliver the very best in security, reliability and price? The figures speak for themselves!

Public Liability Insurance

Professional Indemnity Insurance

Business clients

Checklists

We want your pool fence to pass its first inspection, so that you don’t have to pay reinspection fees. Use our free DIY checklists to prepare your pool fence before our inspector arrives.

Outdoor Pool

For those of you with an Outdoor Pool the legislation is a bit more complex, but we’ve got it covered. Just find the correct checklist for you in the list below and get inspecting!

Outdoor Spa

For those with an Outdoor Spa, print out or save this PDF to your smartphone and take it with you while you carry out your own preliminary inspection.

Download PDF  

Once done, book your pool inspection with mypoolinspection.com

Portable / Inflatable Spa

For those with a Portable or Inflatable Spa, print out or save this PDF to your smartphone and take it with you while you carry out your own preliminary inspection.

Download PDF  

Once done, book your pool inspection with mypoolinspection.com

Indoor Pool / Indoor Spa

For those with an Indoor Pool, print out or save this PDF to your smartphone and take it with you while you carry out your own preliminary inspection.

Download PDF  

Once done, book your pool inspection with mypoolinspection.com

Still not sure if your pool complies?

Email us your photos for free telephone advice

All you need to do is to take a look at your pool fence (with or without the checklist). Then, take some snaps on your smart phone or digital camera and email them to us with a short description of the problem (e.g. can this pot plant be next to the fence?). We ring you and confirm what you should do.

85% of pool owners who pro-actively use our free service save money by avoiding reinspection fees
Email us your photos now

Prices

With our extremely competitive pricing and our commitment to getting you passed first time, every time, we believe we offer the very best in value for our customers. We’re fast and affordable.

Non-shared PoolPrice
Pool Fence Safety Inspection for Residential Sized Pool$275.00
Subsequent inspection (if within 45 days of First inspection)$175.00
Subsequent inspection (if 46 days or more of First inspection)$275.00
Supply of Compliant CPR Sign$35.00

    (Price List applies to suburban size pools with 1 or 2 gates. All prices exclude GST)   

 

Free CPR Sign When You Book Online!

Book your inspection now using the form at the bottom of this page and receive this CPR sign completely free of charge.

Service Areas

We currently have a very comprehensive service coverage for both New South Wales and Queensland, with other states soon to be added. If you live outside of NSW & QLD, make sure you keep an eye on this page as the additional states will be added soon! Alternatively, get notified by email when new states are added.

Book an Inspection Now!

Fill in your details below and we’ll get straight back to you by email to arrange an inspection at a time that is convenient to you.

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)

OR, Complete Booking Request

Work Phone (business hours)

Home Phone (after hours)

Mobile

Best Contact Method

Company Name (if applicable)

Body Corporate Building Name (if applicable)


Address of Pool

Suburb

State

Postcode
Tenant Details (if rental property)

Tenant Phone Number

Type of Pool

If other, please specify:


Number Of Pool Fence Gates

Approx. Length Of Pool Fence (metres)

Purpose of Inspection

If other, please specify:
Year Pool Fence was Built

Year pool fence last substantially altered or rebuilt

Preferred Date

Preferred Time

Additional Info


Company Or Business Name

ABN (if applicable)

Contact Name
Business Phone

Mobile

Email

 I declare that I have received express permission to act on behalf of the pool owner, and I agree to pass on any and all compliance or non-conformity documentation from mypoolinspection to the pool owner within 2 days, in accordance with legislation

 I would like a free CPR sign provided when the inspection is carried out